Deputy Governor Henry Ohlsson will leave the Riksbank at the end of June

Press release Deputy Governor Henry Ohlsson has informed the Chair of the General Council Bo Broman that he will resign as Deputy Governor on 30 June 2023.

"I have been Deputy Governor of the Riksbank for more than eight years and they have in many ways been the best years in my professional life. I have been given the opportunity to apply the knowledge and experience I have with me from my time in the academic world to do what is best for Sweden. It has been a pleasure to make this journey together with all the knowledgeable employees at the Riksbank and my colleagues on the Executive Board. Nevertheless, I have chosen to end my second term as Deputy Governor early. It has not been an easy decision, but I will be 67 years old in May and there are many other things I would like to do,” says Henry Ohlsson.

“On behalf of the General Council, we would like to thank Deputy Governor Henry Ohlsson for his important work on the Executive Board of the Riksbank.
Mr Ohlsson has made an excellent contribution to the work of the Riksbank over the years. In particular, he has contributed important and insightful knowledge to the Riksbank's work on issues related to wage formation and the labour market in Sweden. On behalf of the General Council, we would like to thank Henry Ohlsson for his excellent work,” say Chair of the General Council Bo Broman and Deputy Chair Tomas Eneroth in a joint comment.

Henry Ohlsson will remain as a Member of the Executive Board until 30 June, but with effect from today, 22 March, will not participate in the Executive Board meetings or the monetary policy meetings in April and June.

According to the new Sveriges Riksbank Act, the Executive Board of the Riksbank shall consist of five members by 2028 at the latest. The General Council of the Riksbank will formally decide whether to begin a recruitment process for the appointment of a new Member at its meeting on 21 April.

Henry Ohlsson took over as Deputy Governor on 12 January 2015 and was given a further term of office as Deputy Governor on 2 October 2020. His current term of office was due to expire on 11 January 2026.

Contact: Press Office, tel. +46 8-7870200
Updated 22/03/2023